Beginning my Investigation of Maker Spaces

Standard

Maker Space has been a huge buzzword for all professions that involve working with children, including k12 teachers. My sister, who is currently pursuing her dream to become a youth librarian, talks about Maker Spaces constantly. And I mean constantly. I’ve listened to her and I know what they are but she’s my sister, so honestly, a lot of it goes in one ear and out the other. But, when I heard my EDIT 2000 teacher mention Maker Spaces on the first day of class, I thought maybe this was a topic worth investigating further.

Maker Spaces are all about fostering creativity and, in some ways, independence. Personally, I don’t feel like I had a lot of time in school to explore my creativity in a way that didn’t involve me getting graded on it. I was a pretty tightly wound kid so, if it involved getting a grade, I definitely did not focus on the creative aspect of the project. It was all about getting an A. And for the most part that worked for me, but I do wish I had an area in school or in my library where creativity was the reason I was there and I didn’t really have to worry about being judged for what I created.

I’m really excited to work on this topic for my 20% Project. To start I’ve followed a few Maker Space experts on Twitter. Some profiles I’ve followed are: @makerfaire @NancyJoLambert and @sjgorman. I am also monitoring #makerspace and #makerfaire.

Leave a Reply

